Day 1

Oh Jesus. Doing this detox for two weeks is going to suck ass. At about 10am this morning I started craving a grilled cheese sandwich. Because I normally eat them for breakfast? No … just because I couldn’t have one. Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t changed my mind. I’m still a big fan of the idea of it, but in reality it’s a bit more difficult to handle.

Breakfast: organic cream of wheat (may be cheating, but it is made from whole grains) with raisins for sweetness.

Lunch: homemade tomato and vegetable broth with beans in it (hard for me because normally soup is just a vehicle for bread), taboulli, small amount of a salad.

Dinner: quinoa pilaf, mustard and miso glazed salmon.

Dessert: small bowl of Kashi with rice milk and raspberries.

So, as you can see, all in all it ain’t so bad. I managed to have some carbs with every meal, but none of them were refined. And I have to say that the dessert of Kashi with rice milk was absolutely spectacular. Yummy the way that a giant chocolate bar with caramel and nuts normally is … to the max.

Now I just have to figure out how to deal with the near-vomit-inducing herbs we’re taking 6 times per day. Then I’ll have this completely under control.

2 thoughts on “Day 1

  1. Its so funny, as you are cutting things out of your diet I am trying to add back in 🙂 I am seeing a new nutritionist whose first comment on my menu was ‘you eat like someone who isn’t allowed to eat’ ! So I am adding back in yogurt and cottage cheese and even some chicken here and there and stopping with the veggies-and-fruits-only thing. I got your letter today 🙂 you are such a sweetie!!!! I am looking into a few new places to do yoga that I think I’d feel more comfy in, maybe you’d like to join me 🙂 I am back playing hockey so feeling a lot better about myself in general (two goals this week!!) maybe I can join you guys for a ski/snowboarding excursion with all this snow we are having as well!

  2. Is this purge supposed to be “fun?” Because it sounds like it’s really depressing. I don’t know about you, but if it’s all uphill and so miserable to do, it’s not going to be too sustainable, true?

    Is this from a particular piece of literature, this program? I’m not one to knock others’ methods, because there are lots of ways to the finish line, but punishment doesn’t really sound like a swell method. (My $4.37)

Leave a Reply

