What do you do when half of the important people in your life think that you’re making a huge mistake but you know your decision is correct?

In exactly 39 days I’m marrying J, the absolute love of my life, who I’ve been in love with since I was 17 years old. That’s 10 years folks. I didn’t see him for 3 years and those years didn’t change how I felt about him one tiny iota.

The friend of mine who was going to marry us left me a message last night letting me know that she has enough doubts, enough concerns about our union, that she doesn’t think it’s a good idea that she marry us. She says she’s spent a long time arguing with herself about it, but finally came to the decision that it was too much like lying for her to officiate our wedding.

Look, I would never under any circumstances try and tell anybody that J and I have a perfect relationship. And good lord, I hope we never do, because it would be boring as all holy hell. But we have something between us that nobody around seems to understand at all. He gets me … he gets the little pieces of me that nobody has ever gotten before. And he gets the things about me that I hate and wants to help me change them. And he doesn’t put me up on a fucking pedestal like every single other person I’ve ever dated in my life. He gets that I’m a real person and loves me more for my mistakes and my inconsistancies. J is not actually everything that I’ve ever wanted in a mate, he’s infinitely more. And what we have is not something that I would be able to find again, it’s not something that reproduceable, it’s not something that I am willing to give up.

And that is my choice.

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

