america the beautiful

I’m having such an incredibly emotional reaction to this election day.  I’m feeling hopeful and terrified and happy and like I just want to curl up in a ball and cry.

This day is monumental for a million different reasons.  This is the first time I’ve seen my friends (and myself) really interested in politics, like all of a sudden this stuff actually affects our lives.  We have dinner once a week together and for months now we haven’t been able go for more than an hour without our fears and hopes for this election day peppering the conversation.

I was vehemently talking about the election one day and my husband said, “You’ve never cared about this before, why now?  Why are you now so passionate about it?”  I looked at him, entirely flabbergasted, and responded, “Because it’s not my future I’m caring about anymore.  Now it’s Darwin’s life that this is affecting, and good lord knows I want him raised in a better America than this.”

And that’s really what it comes down to.  That’s why I’m so emotional.  I see the two pathways dividing in the woods.  Down one of them is an America that I don’t want Darwin to be a part of, an America which looks an awful lot like the last 8 years, an America where no forward progress is going to be made and we will just continue falling and falling and falling.

And down the other path is an America where we improvements will be made … where troops will come home from a useless war, my parents won’t have to worry about the state of their retirement investments, health care will be more affordable, the education my son gets will be better, and where a man with different colored skin than Darwin has is president.

Two roads diverged, my friends … and I am incredibly hopeful that America knows which one to choose.

One thought on “america the beautiful

  1. Couldn’t agree with you more. I just wrote a similar post (well, not about Darwin but about the heavy emotions associated with this election). Corny as it sounds, I hope we’ll wake up to a better future tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

