… watch your own reflection superimposed …

Yesterday was an amazing day.  I spent time with two friends of mine who I absolutely adore … we made mac and cheese and talked about intimacy and spirituality and the possibility of overcoming our genetic dispositions.  These are two of my favorite people in the world, who I feel incredibly lucky to be so comfortable with.  They are friends I am not willing to let simply slip away into the ether.

And then last night, after all these deep and wonderful discussions, when I was totally open to having a profound and life-altering experience, I went to go see an Ani DiFranco concert with two other friends.  I’ve been a fan of Ani for 15 years, though my love for her has waxed and waned greatly in that time.  I suppose it would be fair to say that it’s actually been a long time since my love for her was anywhere but on the back burner.  But when a friend said that she was coming to town and playing at Symphony Hall, I obviously couldn’t resist.

And I am now incredibly, unbelievably thankful that I didn’t.

First of all, I have never heard music the way I did last night.  The acoustics in that place are TO DIE FOR.  It was like being entirely encased in a giant bubble filled with the most beautiful music imaginable.  It was all encompassing and entirely astounding.  I can’t say enough.

And the concert itself was amazing.  She played a couple of my favorite songs of hers, subtly redone so that they were new and interesting.  She played a bunch of stuff from her new record, all of which was incredibly cool (I especially liked the one about being in labor with her daughter).  And she played 2 songs which she just wrote, one of which was a song about President Elect Obama, and how proud she is of the American people that we all voted for him.  It was amazing.

She ended the concert with two of my favorite songs, both of which I very strongly associate with J, and they brought me to tears in a way that was astounding.  I think that because I was so open to the world I really let myself have that profound experience, really let myself feel the words and the lyrics and the emotions that are tied into these songs for me.

I’m going to leave you with some of the lyrics to her song “Overlap”:

i search your profile for a translation
i study the conversation like a map
’cause i know there is strength
in the differences between us
and i know there is comfort
where we overlap

each one of us
wants a piece of the action
you can hear it in what we say
you can see it in what we do
we negotiate with chaos
for some sense of satisfaction
if you won’t give it to me
at least give me a better view

i build each one of my days out of hope
and i give that hope your name
and i don’t know you that well
but it don’t take much to tell
either you don’t have the balls
or you don’t feel the same

come here
stand in front of the light
stand still
so i can see your silhouette
i hope
that you have got all night
cause i’m not done looking yet

Thank you, Ani, for entering my life again in such a strong and beautiful way.  You are an inspiration and a road map and a kindred spirit.  Thank you.

One thought on “… watch your own reflection superimposed …

  1. Wow. I’m going to post this part on my fridge or my desk at work, I think:

    i know there is strength
    in the differences between us
    and i know there is comfort
    where we overlap

    That is really great. I like it over here, by the way…I have been completely and totally blog absent recently, so it was refreshing to come over here and here you so inspired again. 🙂 Bless you, friend.

Leave a Reply

