impending

I’m turning 30 two weeks from Wednesday. In the months leading up to this I’ve been feeling exactly the way that you stereotypically are supposed to when you’re turning 30 … terrified, depressed, old. My two best friends are both out of the country, one on a two-week vacation to Thailand and the other in Costa Rica for five months studying Spanish. So the two people who I would normally trust my birthday fun to are both not around. A couple months ago I thought that it was important for me to point this out to J and to make sure he understood that this meant it was up to him to make my birthday a good one.

My mistake.

See, what I figured out is that depending on other people to make it into a good time won’t work. Inevitably they’ll not do what I want them to do, and my expectations will be crushed, and I’ll be incredibly sad. And that, my friends, is total bullshit.

Instead, this year, I came up with my own birthday plan, for incredibly awesome stuff that I am going to go and do by alone. I’m taking the day off work and spending it with myself.

After I drop Darwin off at school in the morning I’m going to go and take a snowboarding lesson. It’s been a couple years since I’ve been and I feel like taking a lesson will ensure that I actually go snowboarding, and might actually help me to get better.

Then, after my snowboarding lesson and morning of boarding fun, I’m going to go grab a quick lunch somewhere and then go get a tattoo. I’m not sure of what yet, or where I’m going to get it (both location on my body and which tattoo studio are still both up in the air), but I’ve got a bunch of ideas I’ve been sitting on for a while, and I’m sure one of them will do. I’ve long been of the belief that there really is nothing better to do when turning 30 than to get a tattoo. I’m glad to see that now that it’s my turn, I still feel the same way.

Then to finish off the day, J and Darwin are going to take me out to dinner.

And that, my friends, is how one should celebrate turning 30. Believe it or not, since coming up with this plan all of my reservations about my impending birthday have slipped away. I feel calm and relaxed and like I can hardly wait for the day itself. It’s going to be good.

2 thoughts on “impending

Leave a Reply

