such a day

Today, like a million other people out there, I am writing about the events of the day.  And it’s not as if we’re all writing about the mundane details of our everydays.  No, today we are all writing about the same event, about the inauguration of our beautiful, brilliant new president, Barack Hussein Obama.

I got choked up the moment I first saw the National Mall and the millions – literally millions! – of people joyfully gathered there to welcome this one, single, solitary man into the hardest job in the world.  I am amazed and awed and filled with hope by the reaction of my nation to this man.

And while I thought his speech was wonderful, I was entirely blown away by the Reverend Doctor Joseph Lowery’s benediction.  This man gave us a prayer filled with hope and humility and pride and humor and love … overwhelming love.  How the Reverend Lowery spoke that prayer is how I hope my relationship with God will someday be.  He spoke with faith and love and surrender and joy.  It’s something I need to work on, something I know I need to put effort into, and the first thing that falls to the wayside in times of business or stress.  And that, of course, makes no sense whatsoever.

Anyway, for those of you who didn’t get to see Reverend Lowery’s benediction, here it is.

Love you all, my fellow Americans.

Leave a Reply

